Monday, December 3, 2018

Mayo, Fardanesh win openers in Orange Bowl 16s

   No. 12 seed Aidan Mayo, who grew up in the Sacramento suburb of Roseville, and unseeded Max Fardanesh of Albany in the San Francisco Bay Area won their first-round matches in the boys 16s today at the Orange Bowl in Plantation, Fla.
   The 15-year-old Mayo, who trains at the USTA Player Development Center in Carson, defeated qualifier Samuel Paquette of Canada 6-4, 6-4 in the clay-court tournament.
   Fardanesh, a doubles finalist in last week's Eddie Herr International Championship in Bradenton, Fla., beat Diego Navarro of Mexico 6-2, 3-6, 6-3. Fardanesh is scheduled to face No. 3 seed Pablo Llamas Ruiz of Spain on Tuesday.
   Luke Casper of Santa Cruz lost to wild card Mark Lajal of Estonia 6-4, 7-6 (5) on Sunday. Casper also fell in the first round of doubles with Esteban Penagos of Colombia.
   In the second round of doubles, No. 4 seeds Spencer Brachman of Commack, N.Y., and Mayo will meet Fardanesh and Evan Wen of Morristown, N.J.
   In girls 16 singles, unseeded India Houghton of Belvedere Tiburon in the Bay Area defeated qualifier Kristen Borland of Canada 6-3, 6-4. Tomi Main of Seaside in the Monterey area surprised No. 16 seed Gabriella Broadfoot, a 14-year-old South African, 6-4, 4-6, 6-0 on Sunday.
   No. 7 doubles seeds Leena Bennetto of Canada and Houghton advanced in straight sets, as did unseeded Main and Jordyn McBride of Valencia in the Los Angeles area. Main and McBride will take on No. 1 seeds Elaine Chervinsky of Boca Raton, Fla., and Madison Sieg of Greenwich, Conn.
   No Northern Californians are entered in boys or girls 18 singles or doubles.
   The Orange Bowl was founded by Eddie Herr in 1947. It was played on clay until 1998, then on hard courts until 2011. It has been contested on clay again since then.
   Past winners of the Orange Bowl 18s include Chris Evert (1969-70), Bjorn Borg (1972), John McEnroe (1976), Ivan Lendl (1977), Gabriela Sabatini (1984), Mary Joe Fernandez (1985), Jim Courier (1987) and Anna Kournikova (1995).
   Winners of the tournament on hard courts include Roger Federer (1998), Elena Dementieva (1998), Andy Roddick (1999), Vera Zvonareva (2000 and 2001), Marcos Baghdatis (2003) and Caroline Wozniacki (2005).

No comments:

Post a Comment