Tuesday, November 29, 2016

NorCal product Riffice survives test in Eddie Herr

   Sam Riffice survived in the first round of the boys 18s in the Eddie Herr International Championships on Monday.
   But his friend and former neighbor in the Sacramento suburb of Roseville, Keenan Mayo, lost in three sets in the hardcourt tournament in Bradenton, Fla.
   Riffice, seeded seventh, eked out a 6-7 (4), 7-5, 6-4 victory over Kristjan Tamm of Estonia. Mayo fell to U.S. wild card Filip Jianu 6-7 (5), 7-5, 6-2.
   Riffice, who won the boys 16 title two years ago, and Mayo train at the USTA centers in Boca Raton, Fla., and Carson, Calif., respectively.
   Mayo's brother, Aidan, and Stefan Leustian of Mather in the Sacramento area advanced in the 14s. Mayo, seeded 15th, beat Dmitry Bezborodov of Kazakhstan 6-4, 6-7 (5), 6-0. Leustian thrashed Anton Semenov of Russia 6-0, 6-0.
   In the girls 18s, wild card Carolyn Campana of Hillsborough in the San Francisco Bay Area lost to sixth-seeded Varvara Gracheva of Russia 6-2, 7-5.
   Campana and Abigail Forbes of Raleigh, N.C., reached the girls 16 doubles final last year.
   In girls 16 singles this week, seventh-seeded Katie Volynets of Walnut Creek in the Bay Area and wild card Anna Campana, Carolyn's sister, are scheduled to play their first-round matches today.
   The Eddie Herr is one of the most prestigious junior tournaments in the world. Past competitors include Roger Federer, Andy Roddick, David Nalbandian, Maria Sharapova, Jelena Jankovic and Ana Ivanovic.
   Herr, the father of international junior tennis, died in 2000 at 93.
   USTA National 40 Hard Court Championships in La Jolla, Calif. -- Nicolas Chasseray of San Francisco surprised No. 16 seed Franklin Da Silva of Newport Beach 6-0, 6-4 in the second round.
   No. 4 Oren Motevassel of San Jose, No. 6 Jeff Greenwald of San Anselmo, No. 8 Leon Bax of Mountain View, No. 10 Daniel Hiddleson of Kentfield and No. 13 Joshua Prager of Yuba City coasted into the third round after receiving first-round byes.
   Greenwald won the title in 2009, and Motevassel took the crown in 2011 and 2012.

No comments:

Post a Comment