Friday, December 13, 2019

Ovrootsky loses in Orange Bowl girls 16 quarters

   No. 10 seed Victoria Mboko of Canada outlasted No. 13 seed Vivian Ovrootsky of San Jose, Calif., 2-6, 6-3, 6-4 today in the girls 16 quarterfinals of the Orange Bowl in Plantation, Fla.
   Ovrootsky also fell in the quarters of last week's Eddie Herr International in Bradenton, Fla. She won the doubles title with Sarah Hamner of Fort Collins, Colo.
   Meanwhile, Northern Californians Aidan Mayo and Hugo Hashimoto advanced in boys doubles in the Orange Bowl.
   Unseeded Lorenzo Claverie of Venezuela and Mayo, 16, of Roseville in the Sacramento area, upended fourth-seeded Eliakim Coulibaly of the Ivory Coast and Lukas Neumayer of Austria 6-4, 6-1 to reach the quarterfinals in the 18s.
   Fifth-seeded Ozan Colak of Okemos, Mich., and Hashimoto edged fourth-seeded Gonzalo Bueno of Peru and Francisco Lamas Villarroel of Venezuela 7-5, 4-6 [10-4] in the quarters of the 16s.
   The Orange Bowl was founded by Eddie Herr in 1947. It was played on clay until 1998, then on hardcourts until 2011. It has been contested on clay again since then.
   Past winners of the Orange Bowl 18s include Chris Evert (1969-70), Bjorn Borg (1972), John McEnroe (1976), Ivan Lendl (1977), Gabriela Sabatini (1984), Mary Joe Fernandez (1985), Jim Courier (1987) and Anna Kournikova (1995).
   Winners of the tournament on hardcourts include Roger Federer (1998), Elena Dementieva (1998), Andy Roddick (1999), Vera Zvonareva (2000-01), Marcos Baghdatis (2003) and Caroline Wozniacki (2005).

1 comment:

  1. This comment has been removed by a blog administrator.


Please help defray travel expenses
Thanks for your donation!