Monday, April 25, 2016

Cal's Manasse wins Pac-12 women's singles title

Cal's Maegan Manasse practices her serve
during the Sacramento Challenger last July.
Photo by Paul Bauman
   Cal's Maegan Manasse ended UCLA's streak of three consecutive women's singles titles in the Pacific-12 Conference Championships.
   Manasse, seeded first, outclassed Catherine Harrison, the third seed and defending champion, 6-3, 6-2 in Sunday's final in Ojai, Calif. Manasse is ranked 11th and Harrison 17th.
   Jennifer Brady won the title in 2014 and Kyle McPhillips in 2013.
   Manasse, a junior from Redondo Beach in the Los Angeles area, became the third Bear to win the Pac-12 singles crown and first since Zsuzsanna Fodor 10 years ago. Raquel Kops-Jones triumphed in 2004.
   In the women's doubles final, Stanford's Melissa Lord and Carol Zhao fell to Arizona State's Alexandra Osborne and Ebony Panoho 6-3, 6-1. Both teams were unseeded.
   Lord, a freshman from Bloomfield, Conn., and Zhao, a junior from Canada, have played together for only one month.
   Zhao won the 2015 title with Taylor Davidson, who was seeded second this year with Caroline Doyle of San Francisco. They lost to unseeded Nour Abbes and Miki Kobayashi of Washington in the quarterfinals.
   Osborne and Panoho, the 22nd-ranked pair, gave Arizona State its first Pac-12 title and became only the third team from a school outside California to win the doubles crown.
   Arizona's Lindsay Blau and Michelle Gough prevailed in 2000, and the Wildcats' Alix Creek and Danielle Scott captured the 1992 title.
  ATP World Tour -- Former Stanford stars Bob Bryan and Mike Bryan, seeded second, beat wild cards Pablo Cuevas of Uruguay and Marcel Granollers of Spain 7-5, 7-5 for their third title in the Barcelona Open and 111th overall.

No comments:

Post a Comment