Monday, May 28, 2018

Wake, Ole Miss players claim NCAA singles titles

   The Wake Forest men made the most of their homecourt advantage in the NCAA Championships.
   After the Demon Deacons won the team title at home in Winston-Salem, N.C., on Tuesday, two of their players met in today's singles final. No. 4 seed Petros Chrysochos, a junior from Cyprus, defeated No. 7 Borna Gojo, a sophomore from Croatia, 6-3, 6-3.
   It was the first time in 20 years and fourth time in history that two men from the same school played for the NCAA title. In 1998, Stanford's Bob Bryan defeated Paul Goldstein in Athens, Ga.
   In today's women's final, No. 6 Arianne Hartono, a Mississippi senior from the Netherlands, beat No. 9-16 Ashley Lahey, a Pepperdine sophomore from Hawthorne in the Los Angeles area, 6-4, 6-2. Lahey was Hartono's third straight Pepperdine opponent.
   International players swept the singles titles for the first time since Cal's Suzi Babos (Hungary) and UCLA's Benjamin Kohllhoeffel (Germany) in 2006. Americans had won four consecutive men's titles and six straight women's crowns.
   Today's doubles finals featured four unseeded teams.
   UCLA's Martin Redlicki and Evan Zhu saved a match point in their 6-7 (8), 7-6 (4) [11-9] victory over Ohio State's Martin Joyce and Mikael Torpegaard.
   Redlicki, a senior from Boca Raton, Fla., also won the 2016 NCAA doubles title with Mackenzie McDonald, from Piedmont in the San Francisco Bay Area.
   As for Torpegaard, you have to feel for the guy. The senior from Denmark also lost to McDonald 6-3, 6-3 in the 2016 NCAA singles final and fell to Chrysochos in last week's singles quarterfinals in a third-set tiebreaker. Furthermore, Ohio State lost to Wake Forest 4-2 in last week's team final.
   LSU's Jessica Golovin and Eden Richardson outclassed Vladica Babic and Sofia Blanco of Oklahoma State 6-3, 6-2.
   All finals were moved indoors because of rain.

No comments:

Post a Comment